UFIT Urban Fitness, Singapore's Leading Independent Fitness Provider – Fitter, Leaner, Stronger!

Why am I not seeing change?

Today I’m going to talk about change and how YOU can promote it. Actually it’s usually more a case of why you aren’t promoting change as you will read.

First up however thanks to all of you that reported the link to an article on my previous post wasn’t working. It is now so please revisit the post and check out the link – Strength Training.

I meet a lot of people who tell me they are training this way or that, they have a Trainer now or they saw a program on TV on a new training method and they’ve been doing it for 6 weeks but nothing has changed. I have had the occasional UFIT member also say to me, “Darren, I come to UFIT twice a week and have been for 8 weeks but don’t see too much change” (actually this hasn’t been said to me for a while now 🙂 ).

My answer to the last one is, “so what else have you been doing?” I mean does anyone really think 2 hours of exercise a week will stimulate change? For most people that will only slow down the weight gaining process it won’t stop it. It certainly won’t help someone lose weight. I’ve had some members coming to 5 UFIT’s a week and they lost weight. It’s likely most people that do 5 UFIT’s a week will but what works for one person may not work for another.

The key here is balance. A balance between a number of variables primarily exercise, nutrition (food and water) and rest, these variables being to my mind the pillars of a healthy lifestyle.

Within these 3 variables it’s important to understand the role each plays with a view to prioritising each. In turn this prioritising indicates the importance of each variable. I’ll pose the following scenario to illustrate the point. Think of an experiment on a group of individuals that I could set up like this –

Group A: Nutrition; Skip breakfast, coffee and bagel going into the office, late lunch, hawker or takeaway food, a few coffees through the afternoon and a late dinner at home and absolutely famished! Exercise; 3xUFIT’s a week

Group B: Nutrition; Cereal or a couple of eggs and a glass of water, packed sandwich (prepared at home) and a piece of fruit for a lunch in the office or sitting outside, protein shake mid-afternoon and a salad with tuna or beef upon getting home. Exercise; 3xUFIT’s a week.

Whom of Group A or B would lose weight more effectively? Clearly B and why, because they’re prioritising nutrition. By eating earlier and in a more structured way they will sleep better as well.

Now if Group B also reduced nutrient volume as well, i.e. ate less (an easy task completed by trial and error) and kept up the exercise they would lose even more weight!

Just this past Wednesday evening during the UFIT session at the Botanics I bumped into an old gym mate of mine. He was running through the park and saw the group and came over. He’s clearly lost a lot of weight recently and I commented on that. When we were training together a few years ago (ok so about 10 years ago!) we were always discussing the various training issues at that time. I wasn’t at that time involved in the industry, I was just a regular gym guy and my mate and I trained with a couple of other mates one of whom was a competitive bodybuilder. The bodybuilder said that Arnold Schwarzenegger was well known for saying that training successfully required a balance of 75% diet, 20% exercise and 5% rest. Now you all know bodybuilders are not my favourite athletes, if indeed they are “athletes” but Arnie is close to the mark in prioritising nutrition. A rider of course is what Arnie considers to be nutrition and what really is nutrition may be an interesting debate, if you know what I mean…. 😉 The point of this story being my mate is running a bit, in the gym a bit but has changed his nutrition considerably. And it showed!

The question I pose to you all is how much do you prioritise nutrition in your lives? Exercise will provide a lot of benefits but you are minimising those benefits if you aren’t eating properly. The scenario I provided as option B in my theoretical experiment back up the page is an easy way to eat.

I want you all to come to UFIT as much as you can. But if you are only coming once or twice a week and this is your only exercise in the week, you need to have a re-think on your approach. Ideally human beings would be exercising for at least 30 minutes 5 times per week but ideally up to 60 minutes 5 times per week. An interesting site with guidelines on exercise is here.

The great news is UFIT will provide an additional 3 sessions every week as of January making a total of 12 weekly sessions!

Eating well is really quite easy. But what a lot of people know as “eating well” and what this concept really is can be 2 quite different things 🙂 This blog has 10 posts discussing nutrition. Have a read through the “nutrition posts” section reading bottom up, it will take you 15 minutes tops to read them all. There’s heaps of advice about do’s and don’ts.

And if you want some advice on nutrition we can help. We have a “tailored” nutritional coaching service, drop me an email or give me a call!

info@ufit.com.sg

www.ufit.com.sg

UFIT on Facebook

Leave a Reply

